January 13, 2021

ATTORNEY GENERAL RAOUL CONDEMNS ATTACK ON THE U.S. CAPITOL

Chicago — Attorney General Kwame Raoul today joined a bipartisan coalition of 50 states, territories, and the District of Columbia, in sending a letter to Acting U.S. Attorney General Jeffrey A. Rosen condemning the Jan. 6 riot at the U.S. Capitol, and stating such actions cannot be allowed to go unchecked.

"The criminal attack on our democracy on January 6 was horrific and unacceptable," Raoul said. "This country has always served as a beacon of democracy, and last week, rioters threatened that democracy. Regardless of one's political ideology, we should all recognize that these criminal actions cannot go unchecked. Those who participated in the violence at the Capitol must be held fully accountable under the law."

The letter reads:

"We, the undersigned state attorneys general, are committed to the protection of public safety, the rule of law, and the U.S. Constitution. We are appalled that on January 6, 2021, rioters invaded the U.S. Capitol, defaced the building, and engaged in a range of criminal conduct – including unlawful entry, theft, destruction of U.S. government property, and assault. Worst of all, the riot resulted in the deaths of individuals, including a U.S. Capitol Police officer, and others were physically injured. Beyond these harms, the rioters' actions temporarily paused government business of the most sacred sort in our system – certifying the result of a presidential election.

"We all just witnessed a very dark day in America. The events of January 6 represent a direct, physical challenge to the rule of law and our democratic republic itself. Together, we will continue to do our part to repair the damage done to institutions and build a more perfect union. As Americans, and those charged with enforcing the law, we must come together to condemn lawless violence, making clear that such actions will not be allowed to go unchecked.

"Thank you for your consideration of and work on this crucial priority."

Joining Raoul in the letter are the attorneys general of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.



PRESIDENT

Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Tom Miller

Iowa Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

Chris Toth

Executive Director

1850 M Street NW 12th Floor Washington, DC 20036 (202) 326-6000 www.naag.org January 12, 2021

The Honorable Jeffrey A. Rosen Acting Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20530

Dear Acting Attorney General Rosen:

We, the undersigned state attorneys general, are committed to the protection of public safety, the rule of law, and the U.S. Constitution. We are appalled that on January 6, 2021, rioters invaded the U.S. Capitol, defaced the building, and engaged in a range of criminal conduct—including unlawful entry, theft, destruction of U.S. government property, and assault. Worst of all, the riot resulted in the deaths of individuals, including a U.S. Capitol Police officer, and others were physically injured. Beyond these harms, the rioters' actions temporarily paused government business of the most sacred sort in our system—certifying the result of a presidential election.

We all just witnessed a very dark day in America. The events of January 6 represent a direct, physical challenge to the rule of law and our democratic republic itself. Together, we will continue to do our part to repair the damage done to institutions and build a more perfect union. As Americans, and those charged with enforcing the law, we must come together to condemn lawless violence, making clear that such actions will not be allowed to go unchecked.

Thank you for your consideration of and work on this crucial priority.

Sincerely

Wester

Phil Weiser

Colorado Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General

Steve Marshall

Alabama Attorney General

Mark Brnovich

MarkT3

Arizona Attorney General

Xavier Becerra

California Attorney General

athleen sonning

Kathleen Jennings

Delaware Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr

Georgia Attorney General

Clare E. Connors

Hawaii Attorney General

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

Douglas Peterson

Nebraska Attorney General

Clyde "Ed" Sniffen, Jr.

Acting Alaska Attorney General

Leslie Rutledge

Arkansas Attorney General

William Tong

Connecticut Attorney General

Ashley Moody

Florida Attorney General

Leevin Taitano Camacho

Guam Attorney General

Kwame Raoul

Illinois Attorney General

Jon Miller

Tom Miller lowa Attorney General

Daniel Cameron Kentucky Attorney General

Brian Frosh Maryland Attorney General

Brian & Fra

Dana Nessel Michigan Attorney General

Lynn Fitch
Mississippi Attorney General

Aaron D. Ford Nevada Attorney General

Gurbir S. Grewal New Jersey Attorney General

Letitia James
New York Attorney General

Deck Schmidt

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

Honon M. fren

Aaron M. Frey Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General

Eric S. Schmitt

Missouri Attorney General

Jane E. Young

New Hampshire Deputy Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem

Wayne Stenehjem North Dakota Attorney General

Dave Yost

Ohio Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha

Rhose Island Attorney General

Jason R. Ravnsborg

South Dakota Attorney General

Sean Reyes

Utah Attorney General

Denise N. George

Virgin Islands Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson

Washington Attorney General

/dunmander

Edward Manibusan

Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Milytustry

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

alan Wilson

Alan Wilson

South Carolina Attorney General

Herbert H. Slatery III

Tennessee Attorney General

T.J. Donovan

Vermont Attorney General

Marr. Henn

Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

PATRICK MOMSE

Patrick Morrisey

West Virginia Attorney General

Joshua L. Kail Joshua L. Kaul

Wisconsin Attorney General

Bridget Siel

Bridget Hill Wyoming Attorney General

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi CC: Speaker U.S. House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510